top of page
Search
  • Cameron Lee Richardson

Alföðr - Development Diary: Week 3

Hi there,

Welcome to week 3 of my final year project Alföðr.

Last week I got started on the Landscape that I generated from a heightmap made of Iceland.

This week has been expanding on this and also getting a few materials and assets download so I can get started on some level design in the near future. I carried on working on the start of my level, finishing of the two mountains next to the water and started to create a path for the character to follow



I mainly used the Erosion tool to create the cliff edges as well as the hydro erosion tool near the waterside of the cliffside.

on the footpath, the noise tool was used to smooth it out whilst also causing some distress to the ground to look more natural.


Once I had a path to the main vantage point of the beginning I noticed at the was space to the side where you could see outside of the map to block the player's vision of this I used the Ramp tool to create some Geometry that I will later turn into mountains in the background.


I created a viewing platform near the start of the level so the player to look out and take in the full scale of the level they will be traversing through. It's is on course with the path that they need to follow down into the valley to make sure that the player doesn't miss this I have added some cubes to replicate Rocks blocking off the view of the pathway down, making the player focus there attention to the platform.



The last thing that I started was the pool for my waterfall just to get an idea for scale and where the character will stand.

Thankfully due to the the University lending me a PC I have been able to start downloading the assets and materials that I need for the project. This will take some time due to them being 8k and sorting though with LODs I want so I will update the blog soon on my final material and asset list.


This is a comparison shot between the level last week and the improved level this week (due to the size of the level it is hard to get a picture where detail disappears, also ignore the black patches, this is due to rough geometry).





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page